skip navigation

Did you know?

In 34 years we have honored more than 535 student athletes representing all football playing High Schools and prep schools in New Hampshire.

We have honored six state governors, John W. King, Walter Peterson, Jeanne Shaheen, John Lynch, John H. Sununu of New Hampshire, and  Endicott Peabody of Massachusetts.

We have honored several sets of brothers.  In 2011, Jack Pearl of St. Thomas Aquinas became the fourth member of his family to be honored.  He was preceeded by Sean (2002), David (2003) and James (2006).  Also in 2011, we honored our first twin brothers, Matt and Michael Sullivan of Winnacunnet High School.  In 2021`we honored twin brothers Jarrett and Jeremy Henault, Goffstown High School.

We have honored 20 former High School football coaches: Dick Eustis, Forest Branch, Hubie McDonough, Sr., Buzz Harvey, Ed Kissel, Bob Underhill, Bob Chabot, Ken Parady, Dick Martin, Charile Quinn, Michael Murphy, Jeff Francoeur, Jim Fitzgerald, Chuck Lenahan, Dick Piwowarski and Bill Haubrich, Sr., Joe Raycraft, Jim Schubert, Jack Gati, Tom Daubney, Hank Sanders and Paul Lavigne.

Chapter Director Dr. George Larkin was captain of the BC Eagles football team.

We have honored six great college coaches;  Phil Estes, Brown University, Paul Castonia Plymouth State, Bill Bowes and Chief Boston from UNH and Joe Yukica and Tuss McLaughry from Dartmouth,  as well as three great athletic Directors; Andy Mooradin and Carl Lundholm from UNH and Seaver Peters from Dartmouth.

Longtime Chapter Director Bill Ball has led his team to 15 championship game appearances in his 25 seasons as Exeter High School's head coach.  Ball has guided the Blue Hawks to five Division II championships and two Division I titles.

We have paid tribute to a National Football League All-Pro, Ray "Scooter" McLean from St. Anselm College.

 Director Jim Jeanotte was inducted into the UNH Athletic Hall of Fame in 2012.  He received the Joan Leitzell Award for 35 years of Broaadcasting UNH Sports.

Three of our honorees have played football on National Championship College teams; "Dutch" Knox at UNH in the early '30s, Bob Chabot at Army in 1944 and 1945, and Matt Jordan at UMass in 1998.

Joe Yukica won New England "Coach of the Year" honors at three schools: UNH 1967, Boston College 1971 and Dartmouth 1978.

Chapter Director, Bob Norton shined as a College Hockey broadcaster. He's appeared on NHPTV, NESN and even ESPN during the Frozen Four.

Chapter Director Billy Pappas starred in football at Manchester Central, UNH and in the US Air Force.

Chapter Director Ray Truncellito and his son Jim were both Dartmouth Football stand-outs. 

Our N.H. Chapter has four Annual Events: the Scholar/Athlete Banquet in May, our annual summer Golf Tournament, our High School Football Coaches Clinic and our Annual Jeff Francoeur Huddle at the end of the High School Football Season.

Fourteen years ago we honored a father and son combination, Nick and Ron Pappas for their contributions to NH football. In 2002, brothers Nick and Jim Vailas received the same honor. 

At past dinners, we have honored two NHIAA Football Officials, Charles Hunt and Jeff Francoeur.  Media representatives have also been feted, former Union Leader Sports Editor Joe Barnea and Union Leader photographer George Naum, WMUR Sports Anchors Jamie Staton and Jason King, and Union Leader sportswriter John Habib.

Eight current or past members of our Board of Directors have been Head Coachs of the New Hampshire Shrine All star Team.  They are Bill Ball, Bob Camirand, Paul Lavigne, Jack Gati, Rob Cathcart, Jim Fitzgerald, Hank Sanders and Bob Chabot.

Board member Roger Brown has served as the Heisman Trophy Chairman for New Hampshre sinc 2014.  Fellow board member Jim Jeannotte has been a Heisman Trophy voter for over 30 years.

Three current or former Directors have had facilities named after them.  Southern NH University honored Past President George Larkin by naming its athletic field after him.  Manchester Memorial High School named its football stadium in honor of Bob Chabot and Hubie McDonough.

Londonderry Coach Jimmy Lauzon. who joined our Board of Directors in 2016, was one of the youngest varsity head coaches in the country when he was hired to coach Manchester West in 2014.  Lauzon was 23 at the time.

Four of our Directors have been inducted into the NHIAA's Hall of Fame.  Jim Fitzgerald in 2001, Jim Jeanotte in 2002, Billy Pappas in 2005, Hank Sanders in 2010 and Bill Ball in 2018.

Our NH Chapter has had one life member, the late Jim Hayes.